Beautiful Moments: Artists in our midst

This painting was done by my grandmother’s cousin. I inherited it when she died last September. I love that I have this amazing family heirloom that helps me remember my grandmother and takes my bedroom to a new level of classy.photo

Getting excited about friends’ and family’s talents is fun and often fruitful–you never know when your carpenter uncle or quilting BFF will gift you will something precious that you can cherish in your home and pass down to your own kids or grandkids. Appreciating the creativity and effort of your loved one’s project makes it all the more valuable, even if you didn’t pay a penny for it!

The same goes with your own talents! Do you sketch? Paint? Frame? Don’t save it all for yourself. Share your talents with the friends and family who will appreciate it and watch the beauty multiply.

What gems have you gotten from friends and family? Or, alternatively, what have you made for your friends and family? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Moments: Artists in our midst

  1. That’s a fantastic painting! That would be something I would proudly hang on any wall. Some of the items that I am most proud to own are from grandparents and relatives, there’s a connection there that no amount of money can buy.

What's your take?